Contact | Getting there | Site credits | Deutsche Version 
 
Sedge warbler (Image: P. Buchner)Bluethroat (Image: Thaler)Little bittern (Image: P. Buchner)Snipe (Image: P. Buchner)Marsh harrier (Image: A. Ausobsky)

A habitat for birds

Since the end of peat mining the Weidmoos has become an important habitat for birds. Stretches of standing water, reed-beds, clumps of willow and areas which are almost without vegetation now form a mosaic-like landscape which provides a perfect environment for a range of rare birds.

The Weidmoos is, for example, home to one of the largest populations of the white-spotted bluethroat in Europe. Marsh harriers hunt over the large reed-beds, rare waders and water birds such as snipe and spotted crakes raise their young here. For many migrating birds the Weidmoos has become an important resting place. More than 150 bird species have so far been identified, including some whose existence in Europe is endangered. Because of this the Weidmoos was in 2001 designated an EU bird reserve and became part of the European network of reserves Natura 2000.

On the following pages you will find descriptions of some of the bird species which are typical of the Weidmoos. A complete list of all the birds so far identified in the Weidmoos can be downloaded as a pdf file.

Download > Complete list of all birds recorded in the Weidmoos.

 

(c) P. Buchner
An ideal resting place for migrating birds ...

Schilfrohrsänger (Foto: P. Buchner)Blaukehlchen (Foto: Thaler)Zwergdommel (Foto: P. Buchner)Bekassine (Foto: P. Buchner)Rohrweihe (Foto: A. Ausobsky)

Vogellebensraum

Das Weidmoos hat sich nach dem Ende des Torfabbaues zu einem bedeutenden Vogellebensraum entwickelt. Das neu entstandene Mosaik aus Wasserflächen, Schilfbeständen, vereinzelten Weidengebüschen und den stellenweise fast vegetationslosen Flächen bietet einer Reihe von selten gewordenen Vogelarten ideale Lebensbedingungen.

Im Weidmoos gibt es z. B. eines der wenigen Brutvorkommen des Weißsternigen Blaukehlchens in Salzburg. Rohrweihen jagen über den ausgedehnten Schilfflächen und zahlreiche Wasservogelarten und Schilfbewohner ziehen hier ihre Jungen groß. Für viele Zugvögel ist das Weidmoos zu einer wichtigen Raststation geworden. Bisher konnten über 150 Vogelarten festgestellt werden, darunter auch einige, die europaweit bedroht sind. Das Weidmoos wurde deshalb im Jahr 2001 als EU-Vogelschutzgebiet ausgewiesen und ist damit Teil des europaweiten Schutzgebietsnetzwerkes Natura 2000.

Auf den folgenden Seiten finden Sie Beschreibungen ausgewählter für das Weidmoos charakteristischer Vogelarten. Eine komplette Liste aller bisher im Weidmoos festgestellten Vogelarten können Sie als pdf-Datei downloaden.

Download > Komplette Artenliste aller bisher im Weidmoos festgestellten Vogelarten.

 

(c) P. Buchner
Viele Zugvögel rasten im Weidmoos ...