Contact | Getting there | Site credits | Deutsche Version 
 
Bog remnant (Photo:  R. Hofrichter)Peat cutting by hand  (Photo: Archiv Torferneuerungsverein)Lakes and Ponds (Photo: A. Ausobsky)The Weidmoos in winter (Photo: R. Hofrichter)Lakes and ponds (Photo: R. Hofrichter)

The emergence of a new habitat

Nature has returned astonishingly quickly to the land which was left disused when peat cutting ended. A mosaic of ponds, reed-beds and willow bushes has developed. What has emerged is a fascinating regenerated landscape which has – within a few years after the end of peat mining – become home to many rare species of birds.

Pioneer vegetation

Even today, very little vegetation has grown up in those areas where a relatively thick layer of peat remained when peat cutting ended. These places which are almost devoid of vegetation are often subject to extreme temperature fluctuations. Nevertheless, they provide an important habitat for a range of birds such as the little ringed plover and the stonechat.

Lakes and ponds

An important feature of the Weidmoos is its many areas of standing water. Dam-building work that has been undertaken as part of the LIFE project has further increased both the size and variety of these areas. This is an ideal environment for a range of water birds such as little grebes and gargeny. The water edges and mudflats are important feeding grounds for migrating waders.

Reed-beds

The extensive reed-beds of the Weidmoos are a breeding area for marsh harriers. They also provide a perfect environment for a variety of warblers and water birds, as well as being an important part of the bluethroat’s habitat. Great white egrets which overwinter in the Weidmoos hunt for food in the reed thickets.

Remaining bog

In the south of the Weidmoos is the only small remnant of the former bog. The central part of this area still represents a typical bog. On the periphery, however, even this remnant of the bog has lost much of its character through drainage of the area.

Wetland meadows

The wetland meadows are an important habitat for many of the bird species found in the Weidmoos. Curlews which nest in the surrounding fields hunt for food here. The meadows provide an excellent breeding site for lapwings. Since the ending of peat cutting the wetland meadows have been regularly mown (once a year in autumn) in order to prevent them becoming overgrown.

Willow scrub

Since peat mining ended, both small and large thickets of willow have grown up, and these now form an important habitat for many bird species. Although bluethroats nest on the ground, the areas of willow interspersed with reeds form an important part of their habitat.


 

(c) B. Riehl
Pionier vegetation ...

 

(c) A. Ausobsky
Lakes and ponds ...

 

(c) A. Ausobsky
Reed-beds ...

 

(c) A. Ausobsky
Bog remnant ...

 

(c) B. Riehl
Wetland meadows ...

 

(c) A. Ausobsky
Willow scrubs ...

Hochmoorheide (Foto:  R. Hofrichter)Torfabbau im Handstich (Foto: Archiv Torferneuerungsverein)Gewässer (Foto: A. Ausobsky)Weidmoos im Winter (Foto: R. Hofrichter)Gewässer (Foto: R. Hofrichter)

Ein neuer Lebensraum entsteht

In die nach dem Ende des Torfabbaus brachliegende Landschaft ist mit unglaublicher Schnelligkeit die Natur zurückgekehrt. Ein Mosaik aus Wasserflächen, Schilfbeständen und Weidengebüsch hat sich entwickelt. Entstanden ist ein faszinierender Lebensraum „aus zweiter Hand“, der bereits wenige Jahre nach Einstellung des Torfabbaus zur Heimat für viele seltene Vogelarten wurde.

Pioniervegetation

In jenen Bereichen wo auch nach dem Ende des Torfabbaues noch eine relativ mächtige Torfschicht erhalten geblieben ist, hat sich bis heute noch kaum Vegetation angesiedelt. Diese fast vegetationsfreien Flächen sind oft extremen Temperaturschwankungen ausgesetzt. Trotzdem stellen sie für eine Reihe von Vogelarten wie z.B. Flussregenpfeifer oder Schwarzkehlchen wichtige Lebensraumbereiche dar.

Gewässer

Das Weidmoos wird durch eine Vielzahl an stehenden Gewässern geprägt. Die Anstaumaßnahmen im Rahmen des LIFE-Projektes haben Größe und Vielfalt der Wasserflächen noch weiter erhöht. Eine Reihe an Wasservögeln wie z.B. Zwergtaucher oder Knäkenten finden hier ideale Lebensbedingungen. Die Uferbereiche der Gewässer und die Schlickflächen stellen wichtige Nahrungsflächen für durchziehende Watvögel dar.

Schilfbestände

Die ausgedehnten Schilfbestände des Weidmooses sind Brutgebiet der Rohrweihen. Sie bieten aber auch verschiedenen Rohrsängern und einer Reihe von Wasservögeln optimale Lebensbedingungen. Auch für Blaukehlchen bilden sie einen wichtigen Bestandteil ihres Lebensraumes. Die im Weidmoos überwinternden Silberreiher nutzen das Schilfdickicht zur Nahrungssuche.

Hochmoorrest

Vom ehemaligen Hochmoor ist im Weidmoos nur mehr ein kleiner Rest im Süden des Gebietes erhalten geblieben. Der zentrale Bereich dieser Flächen stellt auch heute noch ein typisches Hochmoor dar. In den Randbereichen ist jedoch auch dieser Hochmoorrest durch die Entwässerung des Gebietes bereits stark „verheidet“.

Streuwiesen

Die Streuwiesen stellen für viele im Weidmoos vorkommenden Vogelarten wichtige Lebensraumelemente dar. Brachvögel, die auf den umliegenden Wiesen brüten, suchen hier nach Nahrung. Für Kiebitze sind sie sehr gute Brutflächen. Die Streuwiesen werden nach Ende des Torfabbaues regelmäßig gemäht (einmal jährlich im Herbst), um das Zuwachsen der Flächen zu verhindern.

Weidengebüsche

Nach der Aufgabe des Torfabbaus haben sich mehr oder weniger ausgedehnte Weidengebüsche gebildet, die heute ein wichtiges Lebensraumelement für viele Vogelarten bilden. Obwohl Blaukehlchen ihre Nester am Boden bauen, bilden die schilfdurchsetzten Weidengebüsche einen wichtigen Bestandteil ihres Lebensraumes.

 

(c) B. Riehl
Pioniervegetation ...

 

(c) A. Ausobsky
Gewässer ...

 

(c) A. Ausobsky
Schilfbestände ...

 

(c) A. Ausobsky
Hochmoorrest ...

 

(c) B. Riehl
Streuwiesen ...

 

(c) A. Ausobsky
Weidengebüsche ...